工作室.

认识团队成员

Monotype 设计团队遍布世界各地。我们为世界上最受欢迎的品牌设计字体,并创作有一些本世纪最具标志性、最为人津津乐道的设计。

Tom Foley.

Tom Foley 是 Monotype 的字体创意总监,负责领导字体设计师团队为 Monotype 字体库和企业品牌创造字体。文字设计和字母造型流淌在 Tom 的血脉中——他的曾祖父来自一个专精字母雕刻的石匠家庭,而他的叔叔是一位招牌绘写师。

Phil Garnham.

字体创意总监 Phil Garnham 是一位具有多年全球品牌字体设计和工程经验的字体设计师。Phil 和设计团队及全球客户合作,理解品牌形象的创意需求和商业需求,使用字体构建品牌统一性。

小林章.

字体创意总监小林章拥有三十年的工作经验,在日文字体设计方面拥有丰富的背景,并且对书法有着深刻的理解。在东京武藏野美术大学学习了四年之后,小林章在照相制版制造商写研公司接受了他的第一份工作。在那里,他参与了日文字体设计漫长而复杂的流程。

Charles Nix.

Charles Nix 是一位字体创意总监、设计师、字体排印师和教育者。他设计了 Monotype 字体库中许多流行的字体,包括 Walbaum 和 Hope Sans,在第 22 届 Type Directors Club 年度字体设计竞赛中获得了优秀文字设计奖。他还为 Google Noto、Progressive Insurance 和费城艺术博物馆设计了定制字体。

Tom Rickner.

字体创意总监 Tom Rickner 从事字体工作超过三十年。期间,他掌握了字体设计和生产的方方面面——从最早的点阵字体编辑,到为 Adobe 设计最早的几款多母版字体,以及为 Font Bureau 和 Apple 设计 TrueType GX 可变字体。

Friedrich Althausen.

Friedrich Althausen 是 Monotype 柏林工作室的字体设计师。在魏玛包豪斯大学学习之后,Friedrich 成为了一名自由设计师,对书籍文字设计和字母绘制有着特殊的兴趣。他为数学和制图学等科目的几本教科书设计过字体,他的 “Vollkorn” 字体被广泛认为是互联网上最早的免费网络字体之一。

Jelle Bosma.

Jelle Bosma 是 Monotype 的高级字体设计师。 他于 1992 年加入公司并领导 TrueType 团队,此后,他的职位不断晋升,并在许多方面影响了不断演变的字体图景。

陶帝.

陶帝是 Monotype 上海工作室的字体设计师。他在大学以工程专业毕业,在中国的一家品牌设计公司作为平面设计师开启了职业生涯。在此期间,他被字体的魔力所吸引,开始自学字体设计。

土井辽太.

土井辽太是 Monotype 的字体设计师。在日本读大学期间,作为一名设计专业的学生,土井第一次对字体产生了兴趣。在东京艺术大学获得设计学士学位后,他参加了著名的雷丁大学的字体设计硕士课程,研究日文字体与拉丁字体之间的区别。

许大鹏.

许大鹏于 1988 年加入 Monotype 香港公司,担任字体设计师。他目前是 Monotype 香港公司的首席字体设计师兼产品经理,负责各种字体设计和技术项目,包括在不同平台对字体进行压缩、渲染提示和渲染控制。在加入 Monotype 之前,他在专业排版领域工作了 10 年,在此期间,许大鹏获取了如何高效使用字体的经验,同时还对中文字体排印产生了强烈的热情。

Kamal Mansour.

Kamal Mansour 是 Monotype 的多语言文字设计师。自 20 世纪 90 年代中期以来,Kamal 一直从事全球多种语言的文字设计工作。在此期间,他参与开发了 Unicode 标准——数字化支持世界上所有语言的标准。此外,他还广泛开发了对许多复杂书写系统进行正确文本编排所必需的代码。

Marianna Paszkowska.

Marianna Paszkowska 是 Monotype 的高级字体工程师,确保字体的外观和性能可实现预期目的,从而为字体设计师和客户提供支持。在格但斯克美术学院学习平面设计时培养了对字体的热情后,Marianna 在华沙的字体研究生课程中精进了自己的技能。

Studio.

Meet the team.

The Monotype Studio hails from all corners of the globe. We design typefaces for the world’s most beloved brands, and have created some of this century’s most iconic and talked-about designs.

Pedro Arilla.

Pedro Arilla is a Creative Type Director, designer and typographer from Spain. Since 2010, he has been designing, writing, teaching and lecturing about typefaces. He started at Fontsmith in 2017, and joined the Monotype Studio team in 2020. He is interested in how typography plays a storytelling role in the intersection of culture, technology and sociology.

Tom Foley.

Tom Foley is a Creative Type Director for Monotype, and in his role, is responsible for leading a team of type designers creating fonts for the Monotype Library and corporate brands. Words and letters are in Tom’s blood - his great-grandfather was from a family of stonemasons that specialized in letter carving, and his uncle was a sign painter.

Phil Garnham.

Phil is a Creative Type Director and type designer with many years of experience in the design and engineering of fonts for global brands. Working in collaboration with design studios and global clients, Phil understands the creative and business needs of brands looking to build continuity with type.

Akira Kobayashi.

Creative Type Director Akira Kobayashi has three decades of experience, with an extensive background in Japanese typeface design and a deep understanding of calligraphy. After studying at Musashino Art University in Tokyo for four years, Akira Kobayashi accepted his first job at phototypesetting manufacturer Sha-Ken Co., where he was involved in the lengthy and intricate process of designing Japanese fonts.

Steve Matteson.

Steve Matteson is a Creative Type Director at Monotype, and is a type designer, historian and letterpress printer. He has designed more than 80 typeface families including brand families for Toyota, Microsoft and Google, as well as for the Monotype Library, including a dozen revivals of Frederic Goudy’s typefaces.

Charles Nix.

Charles Nix is a Creative Type Director, designer, typographer and educator. He designed a number of popular typefaces in the Monotype Library, including Walbaum and Hope Sans, which received a Certificate of Typographic Excellence in the 22nd Annual Type Directors Club Typeface Design Competition. He’s also designed custom typefaces for Google Noto, Progressive Insurance and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Tom Rickner.

Tom Rickner is a Creative Type Director with a career in type that spans more than three decades. During that time, he has mastered nearly every aspect of type design and font production, from his earliest days editing bitmaps, to designing some of the very first Multiple Master fonts for Adobe and TrueType GX Variations fonts for the Font Bureau and Apple.

Jelle Bosma.

Jelle Bosma is a Senior Type Designer for Monotype. He joined the company in 1992 as the leader of the TrueType team, and since then, his role has evolved and influenced many aspects of the ever-changing type landscape.

Carl Crossgrove.

Carl Crossgrove is a Senior Type Designer at Monotype. From Carl’s early interest in calligraphy and drawing, through his youth and college years studying fine arts and book arts, to his eventual degree from Rochester Institute of Technology in Printing/Typography, the constant thread in Carl’s life has been his fascination with letterforms.

Ryota Doi.

Ryota Doi is a Type Designer for Monotype. Ryota first became interested in type as a design student while at university in Japan. After receiving his BA in design from Tokyo University of the Arts, he enrolled in the MA typeface design program at the prestigious University of Reading, where he studied the differences between Japanese and Latin type.

Robin Hui.

Robin Hui joined Monotype Hong Kong as a type designer in 1988. He is currently the Chief Typographer and Production Manager of Monotype Hong Kong, responsible for a wide variety of type design and technology projects, including compression, hinting and rendering control of typefaces across different platforms. Before joining Monotype, he worked 10 years as a professional typesetter where Robin gained experience in how type is used effectively, while also developing a strong passion for Chinese typography.

Ben Jones.

Born in the UK, Ben Jones spent his formative years in Switzerland before returning to England to study Typography at the University of Reading. After completing the course, Ben’s focus increasingly shifted towards type design, eventually leading to his completion of the MA Typeface Design course at the University of Reading in 2011.