Terrance Weinzierl.
Senior Type Designer.

In seinen Worten.

Ich vergleiche eine Schriftfamilie gerne mit einem Musikalbum: Es kostet dich monate- oder jahrelang Blut, Schweiß und Tränen, aber irgendwann musst du loslassen und hoffen, dass es den Menschen gefällt.“

Als Senior-Schriftentwerfer im Monotype Studio erstellt und modifiziert Terrance Weinzierl seit 2008 Schriften für die Monotype-Bibliothek und eine Vielzahl von Marken. Neben der Arbeit an kundenspezifischen Projekten für Microsoft, Google, Barnes & Noble, Domino's und SAP hat er auch Schriften für Videospiele, professionelle Sportteams und Automobilhersteller entwickelt.

Nach dem Abschluss eines BFA-Studiums an der Grand Valley State University in Michigan setzte Terrance seine typografische Ausbildung bei Ascender in Chicago fort, wo er zunächst als Praktikant begann, bevor er als Schriftentwerfer angestellt wurde. Bei Monotype war er an einer Reihe von Auftragsarbeiten beteiligt, entwarf maßgeschneiderte Schriften für bekannte Marken und brachte Library-Ergänzungen heraus, wie Kairos Sans und Monarda. Terrance war Schöpfer von Joanna Sans Nova, ein Mitglied der umfangreichen Eric Gill Series. Seine Leidenschaft sind Handschrift und Kalligrafie.

Seine Pizza Press-Familie für Domino’s erhielt im Jahre 2014 vom Type Directors Club ein „Certificate of Excellence“. Die Erweiterung der typografischen Palette für Domino’s in den Jahren 2017 und 2018 beinhaltete den Ausbau der Sans zu einer größeren Familie namens One Dot und einer brandneuen Serif namens Two Dots – eine Hommage an das Firmenlogo.

Terrance ist als gern gesehener Referent bei Veranstaltungen wie TypeCon, AIGA, CreativeMornings und der Game Developers Conference.

Studio-Veröffentlichungen.

Terrance Weinzierl

Terrance values craftsmanship and kindness while designing custom fonts for Monotype’s clients including: Domino’s, SAP, and Barnes & Noble.

Terrance Weinzierl

As a senior type designer in the Monotype Studio, Terrance Weinzierl has been creating and modifying typefaces for the Monotype Library and a wide range of brands since 2008. In addition to working on custom projects for Microsoft, Google, Barnes & Noble, Domino’s and SAP, he’s designed type for video games, professional sports teams and auto manufacturers.

After completing a BFA at Grand Valley State University in Michigan, Terrance continued his typographic education at Ascender in Chicago, where he joined as an intern before being hired as a type designer. As part of Monotype, he’s been involved in an array of client projects, designing bespoke type for well-known brands as well as contributing type releases, such as Kairos Sans and Monarda, to the library. Terrance designed Joanna Sans Nova, which is part of the Eric Gill Series superfamily, and maintains a keen interest in hand-lettering and calligraphy.

Terrance’s Pizza Press typeface for Domino’s won a Certificate of Excellence in Typeface Design from the Type Directors Club in 2014. Expanding the typographic palette for Domino’s in 2017 and 2018 included broadening the sans into a larger family called One Dot and a brand new serif design called Two Dots—an homage to the logo.

Terrance is a regular speaker at events, including TypeCon, AIGA, Creative Mornings and the Game Developers Conference.

Helvetica® Now Display

This is Helvetica Now.|

Monarda

Waltzer Ride|

Kairos Sans

Terry Junior

The little polar bear|

Terry Junior

Get this font

Joanna Sans Nova™

A Swiss burger in an English pub|

In his words

“I liken creating a font family to a musical album. It can take months or years of blood, sweat and tears, but sooner or later you have to release it, and hope that people will like it.”