皇家加勒比:用蒙纳盈黑搭配 Proxima Nova,助力全球市场拓展。

Proxima Nova 的定制版本助力皇家加勒比简化数字传播,与中国客户进行清晰有力的沟通。

如同企业试图进入新市场需要有本地化的营销举措,为企业选择一款中文字体同样涉及诸多考量:与品牌一直使用的拉丁字体是否匹配?中文字符是否会影响网页和应用的加载速度?字体授权流程是否会更复杂?

关于皇家加勒比。

自 1969 年成立以来,设计与创新一直是皇家加勒比游轮的企业价值核心。作为全球最大的游轮公司之一,皇家加勒比开创了游轮建筑和技术的先锋,包括在游轮上引入攀岩和滑冰等游乐项目。皇家加勒比拥有世界上最大的游轮,甚至还有海上交响乐团,途经墨西哥、巴哈马、意大利、阿拉斯加等目的地,为世界各地的客户提供优质服务。

挑战。

皇家加勒比此前一直使用 Proxima Nova 的几款字重和样式作为品牌字体,但随着业务拓展,需要与之匹配的中文字体。除了确保视觉统一,还需在技术上呈现完美的数字体验。这意味着,新的字体包需要尽可能小,保证网站和应用加载速度,且不损害清晰度和易认性。皇家加勒比还需要有丰富的字重,满足排版设计的多重需求。

方案。

蒙纳设计团队为皇家加勒比定制了 Proxima Nova 的 16 款字重,并选择中文字体蒙纳盈黑(MYing Hei PRC Medium)与其搭配。这一组合确保所有字符和谐呈现,让皇家加勒比的品牌形象保持一致性。

技术上,还需要确保新的字体组合不会影响数字界面的加载速度。蒙纳定制的字体可以将不同的字重打包成单一文件,用于皇家加勒比的网站和移动应用,并在 iOS 和安卓环境下测试,让拉丁和简体中文字符在尺寸和位置上统一。

为了统一客户体验,设计团队特意制定了不同的字重组合。并在时间紧迫的情况下,准时地完成了中国区的交付使用。此外,皇家加勒比还和设计师团队一道,简化了定制字体和现用字体的授权协议。

我的脑海中出现了‘灵活性’和‘适应性’这两个关键词。在我们公司内部,时常会遇到法务或者财务方面的挑战,蒙纳在这些方面都给予了支持。作为合作方,蒙纳团队有着超乎一般的韧劲和灵活性。字体工程师和设计师对项目都有极大的热情,工作进度极为高效。

Byron Gronseth, Director,皇家加勒比游轮有限公司产品设计总监

成果。

内部:

  • 推动业务向中国新市场拓展。
  • 在时间紧迫的情况下,顺利完成数字产品在中国的交付。
  • 提供简体汉字与英文的多种编排选择,供设计团队内外的部门共享。

外部:

  • 通过网站、iOS 和安卓应用,让企业信息传播至更多中国客户。
  • 让不同语言的文字保持视觉和谐,同时确保皇家加勒比的全球品牌形象一致。
  • 为客户提供轻松愉快的数字体验。
了解字体设计背后的故事很有意思。我的职业生涯始于印刷业,对字体也有着一些老派的欣赏角度。字体产品背后的深奥学问和工匠精神让人惊叹。

Alberto Orsini,皇家加勒比游轮有限公司产品设计高级经理

Download.

Royal Caribbean’s extended Proxima Nova is powering development in new markets.

Powering development in new markets for Royal Caribbean

A custom version of Proxima Nova will streamline Royal Caribbean’s digital presence for clear and confident communication with Chinese customers.

As Royal Caribbean continued to engage with a new market in China, it needed to develop its digital presence to better serve this group of customers.

About the company.

Design and innovation have been at the heart of Royal Caribbean since its inception in 1969. One of the largest cruise lines in the world, it has pioneered the development of cruise ship architecture and technology—such as introducing rock climbing and ice skating to its ships. Its fleet includes the largest cruise ships in the world, including Symphony of the Seas. Royal Caribbean sails to destinations including Mexico, the Bahamas, Italy and Alaska, and serves customers all over the world.

The challenge.

The company was already using Proxima Nova as a brand typeface in several different weights and styles, however needed fonts that offered simplified Chinese. Not only did these have to feel part of the Royal Caribbean brand voice, but it was key they didn’t disrupt the digital experience. This meant any new fonts would have to be lightweight in terms of file size, to create a slim loading package for websites and apps, but without sacrificing clarity and legibility. More than this, Royal Caribbean needed a complete set of weights, enabling it to work with a full typographic palette.

The solution.

Monotype’s design team worked together with Royal Cariibbean to create 16 weights of Proxima Nova that included access to the Chinese font MYing Hei PRC Medium. This choice ensured that any simplified Chinese characters would harmonize with Latin characters set in Proxima Nova so as not to undermine Royal Caribbean’s visual identity and branding.

Another key priority for the brand was to ensure that any new fonts wouldn’t slow down the customer experience. To this end, Monotype delivered a set of custom weights that wouldn’t impact the loading time for Royal Caribbean’s website or mobile app, and could be bundled together as a single file. The team tested their use across iOS and Android, and ensured that Latin and simplified Chinese characters could be combined without inconsistency in size and placement.

To further streamline the customer experience, the design team tailored the weights to offer an optimal set of options all while meeting tight deadlines for shipping digital products to China. Together with the design team, Royal Caribbean also reached a single clear and simple licensing agreement that covered the use of the new custom fonts in addition to existing Proxima Nova files.

The words ‘flexible’ and ‘accommodating’ come to mind. There were instances where it was challenging to get through our own legal and finance hurdles and Monotype moved mountains to get the agreement in place that was functionally sound but also did whatever it took to get to the finish line. Their resilience and flexibility made Monotype a standout partner for us. The engineers and designers were super passionate about the project. Everything we did was expedited and done super fast.”

Byron Gronseth, Director, Product Design, Royal Caribbean Cruises, ltd.

Results.

Internal:

  • Support and enable the expansion into a new market in China
  • Meet tight deadlines for shipping digital products to China, saving engineering time and money
  • A typographic palette, offering simplified Chinese characters, that can be used across Royal Caribbean design teams
  • Ease and speed of sharing type files with the relevant creative teams and leadership

External:

  • Communicate clearly with Chinese customers through website, iOS and Android apps
  • Maintain a sense of Royal Caribbean’s visual identity across different languages, with type that still feels part of the family
  • Create an easy and enjoyable digital experience for customers
It was interesting to look behind the curtain a little bit. My career started in print and I have an old school appreciation for typesetting. The deep discipline knowledge and the craft of making truly universal scalable font products was pretty cool.”

Alberto Orsini, Sr. Manager, Product Design, Royal Caribbean Cruises, ltd